CollectionsKiller Whale Sculpture
HomePlan Your VisitWhat's OnIMAXExhibitionsChildren's MuseumExploreInteractEducation

Introduction

Hand puppets, rod puppets, puppets from here, there and everywhere ... fairytale witches, ancient mythological gods and lively characters from children's television shows - a puppet collection is something like a window, through which we have a glimpse of the wealth of puppetry, its history and diversity, even though, once the curtain falls, the show is well and truly over.

This module invites you to explore the Canadian Museum of Civilization's puppetry collection as well as specific aspects of the art of puppetry. The Museum's collection, boasting more than 2,000 puppets and accessories, along with extensive archival material, is unique in its ability to illustrate important facets of puppet theatre in Canada.

To help you make your way through the collection and search the database, we have grouped the puppets and archival documents by Canadian artist or company, or by country, or by type of puppet, according to each theme.

Bonne exploration !

The Puppet Collection of the
Canadian Museum of Civilization

In the West, puppet theatre has often been taken over by and limited to childhood. While it may be one of puppetry's favourite haunts, the ancient art of puppetry has a far greater reach. In all the world's cultures, puppetry exists in a multitude of forms, reaches a wide range of audiences, and remains highly diversified.

In Canada, although puppet theatre is not rooted in a long-established tradition, it is, nonetheless, increasingly recognized as an important form of artistic expression. Its history, however, remains relatively unknown. Long perceived as a minor art, puppet theatre has rarely been studied and its heritage remains fragile, in part because of the ephemeral nature of its productions. The development of a collection such as the Museum's thus enables us to begin a true exploration of this history of puppetry. What stories were told ... which types of puppet were used ... to whom were they presented? As we delve into the history of puppetry, we also begin to discover various aspects of a society: its mythology, its literature, its entertainment and its visual arts.

The transfer of the Ontario Puppetry Association (OPA) collection and its archival fonds in 1994 greatly enhanced the Museum's existing puppet collection. The impressive OPA collection of more than 1,600 puppets and accessories was amassed between 1958 and 1994, largely through gifts from puppeteers. The Museum's puppet collection, already home to the John Conway fonds, became the repository of one of the most important puppetry collections in the country.

 

Bibliography | Resources | Credits | Index

Created : May 1, 2008. Last update : May 1, 2008.
© Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation

Important Notices

Your Country. Your World. Your Museum.

CollectionsSculpture d'épaulard
AccueilPlanifier votre visiteCalendrierIMAXExpositionsMusée canadien des enfantsExplorerInteragirÉducation

Introduction

Marionnettes à fils, marionnettes à tige, marionnettes d'ici, marionnettes d'ailleurs, sorcières de contes de fée, dieux des mythologies anciennes, sympathiques personnages d'émissions pour enfants... Une collection de marionnettes, c'est un peu comme une fenêtre, celle qui permet de percevoir la richesse d'un art, son histoire, sa diversité... même si, une fois le rideau tombé, le spectacle est bel et bien terminé.

Ce module invite à découvrir à la fois la collection des arts de la marionnette du Musée canadien des civilisations et certaines facettes particulières des arts de la marionnette. La collection, riche de plus de
2 000 marionnettes et accessoires et d'un imposant fonds d'archives, est unique par sa capacité d'illustrer des pans importants du théâtre de marionnettes au Canada.

Pour permettre de parcourir plus facilement la collection et mieux orienter les recherches dans la base de données, on a regroupé les marionnettes et les documents soit par compagnie ou artiste canadien, soit par pays, soit par type de marionnettes selon les trois thèmes proposés.

Bonne exploration !

Collection des arts de la marionnette du Musée canadien des civilisations

En Occident, le théâtre de marionnettes a souvent été assimilé et confiné à l'enfance. C'est sans contredit un des domaines privilégiés de l'art de la marionnette, mais cet art ancien couvre bien d'autres territoires. Dans toutes les cultures du monde, il se manifeste sous une multitude de formes, s'adresse à un vaste public et connaît toujours une pratique fort diversifiée.

Au Canada, le théâtre de marionnettes n'a pas une tradition établie de longue date, mais cette forme d'expression artistique est de plus en plus reconnue. Son histoire, par contre, demeure méconnue. Perçu longtemps comme un art mineur, le théâtre de marionnettes a été peu étudié et son patrimoine reste fragile, tributaire de la nature éphémère des productions. La constitution d'une collection permet alors d'interroger un peu cette histoire. Quels récits a t on racontés? Avec quels types de marionnettes? Pour quels publics? Mine de rien, en s'attardant sur l'histoire des arts de la marionnette, on découvre en même temps plusieurs composantes d'une société : sa mythologie, sa littérature, ses divertissements, ses arts plastiques...

Le transfert, en 1994, de la collection de l'Ontario Puppetry Association (OPA) et de son fonds d'archives donne son essor à la collection du Musée Canadien des Civilisations. Cette imposante collection de près de 1 600 marionnettes et accessoires a été constituée entre 1958 et 1994, surtout grâce aux dons de marionnettistes. Le Musée, qui possédait déjà des marionnettes dans sa collection et comptait dans ses archives le fonds John Conway, devenait ainsi le dépositaire d'une des plus importantes collections reliées aux arts de la marionnette au pays.

 

Bibliographie | Ressources | Générique | Index

Date de création : 1er mai 2008. Mise à jour : 1er mai 2008.
© Société du Musée canadien des civilisations

Avis important

Votre Pays. Votre Monde. Votre Musée.