CollectionsKiller Whale Sculpture
HomePlan Your VisitWhat's OnIMAXExhibitionsChildren's MuseumExploreInteractEducation

The Puppet

Types of Puppet and Manipulation

Setting objects in motion lies at the heart of puppetry. The means by which these objects are set in motion form the basis of the classification of puppets.

Puppets are most often broken down into six major families: marionettes, which are manipulated by strings, and their ancestors, rod marionettes, which are supported by a rod attached to their heads; hand puppets, which are slipped over the hand; rod puppets, which are activated from below with the aid of slender wands; shadow figures, which glide behind a backlit screen; and Bunraku-style puppets, which are usually manipulated in full view of the audience.

These six types of puppet are, in turn, traditionally associated with three major positions from which they can be manipulated:

  • from below: the manipulator moves the puppet over his or her head, as in hand puppets or rod puppets;
  • from above: the manipulator positions himself or herself above the puppet to operate it, as in marionettes and rod marionettes; and
  • from behind: the manipulator stands behind or beside the puppet, as in Bunraku-style puppets and certain shadow figures.

If we look at the entire history of puppets from around the world, we find several types of puppets and theatrical forms that do not fit into any of the categories above. Is a water puppet a rod puppet? How do we work a body puppet? What about a limberjack? Furthermore, contemporary forms of puppet theatre, which encourage experimentation and a blending of genres, have generated an entire range of hybrid puppets, as well as recycled objects and ephemeral forms used as such, all of them difficult to classify.

This multiplicity of forms has led to the suggestion that puppets be classified according to their proximity to the puppeteer. Eileen Blumenthal outlines this typology in her work Puppetry: A World History, 2005.

First comes the family of puppets whose animation depends upon a part of (or even the whole body of) the manipulator, such as hand puppets, finger puppets or body puppets. Within this family, certain types may even transform part of the manipulator's body into a part of the puppet's body, for example, mouth and human arm puppets, where the puppeteer's hand becomes that of the puppet.

Next comes the family of puppets animated "beyond" the manipulator, from direct manipulation puppets to puppets that need devices, the most common being strings or rods. Within this large family of puppets, we can group together the two-dimensional puppets that share certain characteristics with the image, for example, shadow figures or silhouettes. These puppets can also be activated directly or with rods and strings.


Bibliography | Resources | Credits | Index

Created : May 1, 2008. Last update : May 1, 2008.
© Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation

Important Notices

Your Country. Your World. Your Museum.

CollectionsSculpture d'épaulard
AccueilPlanifier votre visiteCalendrierIMAXExpositionsMusée canadien des enfantsExplorerInteragirÉducation

La marionnette

Types de marionnettes et de manipulations

Au cœur des arts de la marionnette réside la mise en mouvement d'un objet. Les mille et un moyens inventés pour faire bouger cet objet ont orienté la classification des marionnettes.

Le plus souvent, on propose six grandes familles : la marionnette à fils, dont on tire les ficelles, et son ancêtre, la marionnette à tringle, soutenue par une tige attachée à la tête, la marionnette à gaine que l'on enfile sur la main, la marionnette à tige actionnée par le bas à l'aide de baguettes, les ombres que l'on glisse derrière un écran et la marionnette d'inspiration bunraku que l'on manipule le plus souvent à vue.

On associe traditionnellement ces types à trois grands principes de manipulation :

  • Manipulation en élévation : la marionnette est manipulée par le bas, comme le sont les marionnettes à gaine ou à tige.
  • Manipulation surplombante : la marionnette est actionnée par le haut, comme le sont les marionnettes à fils ou à tringle.
  • Manipulation frontale ou équiplane : le manipulateur se tient derrière la marionnette, comme pour la marionnette d'inspiration bunraku et certaines ombres.

En parcourant l'histoire de la marionnette à travers le monde, on croise plusieurs sortes de marionnettes et de formes théâtrales qui ne correspondent pas tout à fait à ces catégories. La marionnette sur eau est-elle une marionnette à tige? Que faire de la marionnette habitée? Et le fameux petit bonhomme danseur? Les formes contemporaines du théâtre de marionnettes, en favorisant l'expérimentation et le mélange des genres, ont donné naissance à toute une gamme de marionnettes hybrides, d'objets recyclés et de formes éphémères... difficilement classables.

Devant ces multiples formes, on propose parfois de classer les marionnettes selon leur proximité avec le manipulateur (Eileen Blumenthal, dans son ouvrage Puppetry: A World History, 2005, détaille cette typologie).

On trouve d'abord la famille de marionnettes dont l'animation requiert partiellement ou entièrement le corps du manipulateur, comme la marionnette à gaine, la marionnette à doigt ou la marionnette habitée. Dans cette famille, certains types transforment même une partie du corps du manipulateur en une partie du corps de la marionnette, par exemple, la marionnette à gueule et à main prenante dont la main est en fait celle-là même du marionnettiste. Vient ensuite la famille des marionnettes
« extérieures » au manipulateur : de la marionnette à manipulation directe jusqu'aux marionnettes pour lesquelles on utilise des
« dispositifs », les plus courants étant les fils ou les tiges. Dans cette grande famille des marionnettes « extérieures » au manipulateur, on peut regrouper les marionnettes bidimensionnelles qui partagent certaines caractéristiques avec l'image, par exemple : l'ombre ou la silhouette. Ces marionnettes peuvent aussi être actionnées directement ou à l'aide de tiges et de fils.


Bibliographie | Ressources | Générique | Index

Date de création : 1er mai 2008. Mise à jour : 1er mai 2008.
© Société du Musée canadien des civilisations

Avis important

Votre Pays. Votre Monde. Votre Musée.